Ballinascarthy AGM 21/01/22   04/02/2022

Ballinascarthy GAA Club reflects on a successful 2021.

The Club Chairperson JJ Walsh welcomed a large attendance to the Clubs AGM held in-person recently in the newly refurbished Ballinascarthy GAA hall.

The Secretary Ursula Hennessey in her report highlighted the successful year the Club had on the playing field during 2021. The Junior A hurling team achieving divisional honours, having come through a close game with Dohenys in the semi-final. The footballers also had a busy season and successful in many respects but did not progress to the final stages of championship.

The club fielded four Junior teams, competing in Junior A and B hurling and Junior A and C football respectively. A total of 55 players togged out for the club at Junior level across those teams with 13 sets of brothers playing.

Most underage playing activity is conducted in cooperation Saint Oliver Plunketts Club under the aegis of Owen Gaels. The good run in the U21 A hurling by Owen Gaels in reaching the final shows how successful the cooperation is.

Brian Murphy the Club Treasurer reported that Club finances were in a sound state. He particularly thanked the Lotto Management team for the work they had done in conducting the weekly draws despite some interruptions by Covid. The Club warmly thanked Kevin Ryan the main lotto coordinator who has stepped down after many years of sterling work. The County Board fund raiser, The Rebels Bounty draw was also well supported in 2021.

JJ Walsh in his address thanked his fellow officers, team managements and Club members for their work during 2021. He complimented the Underage Club and the Camogie Club on their achievements at club and individual level. Reference was made to great work achieved by the Pollinator group, improving the environmental aspects of our playing grounds and enhancing how our playing facilities look. He thanked the Southern Star for the wide coverage provided for GAA games across the division throughout the year. Reference was also made to reporter John Murphy, thanking him for his inciteful reports on local games.

Outgoing officers remaining JJ Walsh chair, Ursula Hennessey Secretary, Joe Ryan PRO. The Club is delighted to welcome new officers Eamon O’Flynn Treasurer, Niall Diamond Assistant Secretary, John O’Reilly Registrar, Andrew O’Flynn assistant PRO. Conor O’Sullivan has stepped forward to coordinate the Lotto Committee.

A number of motions were put to the floor on the running of the Club. A motion on officer succession recommendations will be dealt with by special committee in the near future.





Draw 26th September Numbers 3, 16, 22 & 29No winnerLucky Dips1. Michael mccarthy, maryboro2. Barry Hanrahan, Ballinscarthy 3. Carmel McKenzie, Dromgarriffe 4. Nora Mary O'Driscoll, Ballymacwilliam5. R.P.S.A. Nyhan, Dromgarriffe



Cork V Dublin 2013